Home / Our Identity / School Vision, Mission, Values & Desired Outcomes
Home > Our Identity > Our History

Our History

Townsville Primary School started functioning at its former premises in Ang Mo Kio St 32 in 1983. The school was officially declared open on 25 July 1985 by BG Lee Hsien Loong, then Minister of State for Defence, Trade and Industry and Member of Parliament for Teck Ghee Constituency. The school moved to its current premises at 3 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10 in December 2000 and merged with Chong Shan Primary School in 2001. The new campus was officially opened on 12 July 2002 by then DPM Lee Hsien Loong. 

Over the years, the school has been visited by dignitaries and educators from all over the world, the most eminent being Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II of Great Britain in 1989. The school has also hosted school leaders, teachers and students from other countries such as China, India and Indonesia. 

In 2013, the Ministry of Education granted the school Niche Status in Visual Arts under the MOE Programme for School-Based Excellence 2013. This was a strong affirmation of our Visual Arts Programme, which not only enables our students to acquire art-making knowledge and skills, but also aims to develop 21st century competencies in them and to shape their character through the inculcation of our iCARe3 values. 

The former Principals of the school were: 
• Mr Tan Bee Young
• Mrs Daisy Tay
• Miss Teo Lian Geok
• Mr Tan Yan Song
• Miss Chiang Wai Leng 
• Mr Eugene Ong Kai Tiong 
• Mrs Liu-Loh Wee Cheng 

The current Principal, Mr Victor Tan, was appointed on 15 December 2016.